The National High School Musical Theatre Awards

The Jimmy™ Awards

1371579002_jimmy.jpgThe National High School Musical Theatre Awards™ (NHSMTA) was established in 2009 to elevate the importance of theatre arts education in schools and reward excellence in student performance. The program impacts over 50,000 students annually who participate in high school musical theatre competitions sponsored by thirty professional theatres throughout the US.

Since its inception, NHSMTA has been the catalyst for more than $1,000,000 in educational scholarships awarded to deserving young performers. Also known as The Jimmy® Awards, named for the late Broadway impresario James M. Nederlander, and is administered by The Broadway League Foundation Inc.

The National High School Musical Theatre Awards was founded by Pittsburgh CLO and Nederlander Alliances, a division of The Nederlander Organization, along with inaugural donors NYU Tisch School of the Arts, the National Endowment for the Arts, The Shubert Organization, The Broadway League, Tams-Witmark Music Library, Inc., Disney Theatrical Productions, Barry & Fran Weissler/BWF Foundation, and Jujamcyn Theaters.

NHSMTA week takes place annually in June in New York City. The Jimmy™ Awards are presented on Broadway at a Nederlander theatre.